Monday, May 27, 2024

Grant Enfinger scores first Truck win of 2023 in Kansas

Kris Wright‘s spin set up a restart with thirty-six laps remaining, which Grant Enfinger capitalised upon in such an impressive manner that he led the rest of the way and beat Corey Heim by over four seconds to score his eighth career NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series victory and first at Kansas Speedway.

Enfinger started eleventh but quietly worked towards the front, eventually finishing Stage #2 in second behind Ty Majeski. However, Majeski’s race came to a sudden end when he was trying to lap Rajah Caruth while pursuing Enfinger; Caruth placed multiple blocks on Majeski before being clipped by the latter and sent into the wall.

“We got back up front there with a little bit of strategy. Thought we may have made a wrong adjustment when we were racing the #24 there,” commented Majeski. “He was ultra aggressive blocking, so he blocked once, then twice, and I had a run and he was a little late.

“We weren’t very good the first run, missed our balance from practice a little bit, and we got a good adjustment and we had two-lap fresher tyres than everyone else, which made the truck better. It was a combination of both things, having a little bit fresher tires, but also making those adjustments. Overall, I think we had a good, capable truck to win tonight. It just wasn’t meant to be.”

Caruth explained, “It was really close, and we had a long way to go. I was trying to cover the top, and he just kind of hooked me there. I didn’t double-move or anything. I picked the top there, and he just took me.”

The incident set up a restart that resulted in even more carnage when Matt DiBenedetto was hit by Christian Eckes onto the apron moments after taking the green flag. As DiBenedetto attempted to correct his truck, he slid up into Dean Thompson and Carson Hocevar.

At the front, Enfinger notched his first win of 2023 and second for GMS Racing after winning at Indianapolis the previous year.

“From the drop of the green flag, we had a really really good Chevy Silverado,” Enfinger stated. “Just started out really tight. Once Jeff (Hensley, crew chief) made one adjustment on it, I felt like from that point forward, we were potentially the best truck out there.”

Elsewhere in the field, Toni Breidinger scored an impressive fifteenth in her Truck début. Justin Carroll, after multiple failed attempts to qualify, finally cracked his first starting grid and finished twenty-third.

Race results

Finish Start Number Driver Team Manufacturer Laps Status
1 11 23 Grant Enfinger GMS Racing Chevrolet 134 Running
2 12 11 Corey Heim TRICON Garage Toyota 134 Running
3 7 38 Zane Smith Front Row Motorsports Ford 134 Running
4 14 52 Stewart Friesen Halmar Friesen Racing Toyota 134 Running
5 17 41 Ross Chastain* Niece Motorsports Chevrolet 134 Running
6 6 2 Nick Sanchez Rev Racing Chevrolet 134 Running
7 2 51 Kyle Busch* Kyle Busch Motorsports Chevrolet 134 Running
8 4 35 Jake Garcia McAnally-Hilgemann Racing Chevrolet 134 Running
9 19 17 Taylor Gray TRICON Garage Toyota 134 Running
10 23 16 Tyler Ankrum Hattori Racing Enterprises Toyota 134 Running
11 21 88 Matt Crafton ThorSport Racing Ford 134 Running
12 16 13 Hailie Deegan ThorSport Racing Ford 134 Running
13 10 43 Daniel Dye GMS Racing Chevrolet 133 Running
14 28 32 Bret Holmes Bret Holmes Racing Chevrolet 133 Running
15 24 1 Toni Breidinger TRICON Garage Toyota 133 Running
16 5 99 Ben Rhodes ThorSport Racing Ford 133 Running
17 34 45 Lawless Alan Niece Motorsports Chevrolet 133 Running
18 8 15 Tanner Gray TRICON Garage Toyota 133 Running
19 27 04 Johnny Sauter Roper Racing Ford 133 Running
20 26 46 Brennan Poole* G2G Racing Toyota 133 Running
21 31 20 Nick Leitz Young’s Motorsports Chevrolet 133 Running
22 30 56 Tyler Hill Hill Motorsports Toyota 132 Running
23 32 90 Justin Carroll TC Motorsports Toyota 132 Running
24 29 22 Josh Reaume AM Racing Ford 132 Running
25 9 98 Ty Majeski ThorSport Racing Ford 131 Running
26 36 12 Spencer Boyd Young’s Motorsports Chevrolet 131 Running
27 33 33 Mason Maggio Reaume Brothers Racing Ford 131 Running
28 25 02 Kris Wright Young’s Motorsports Chevrolet 91 Accident
29 18 25 Matt DiBenedetto Rackley WAR Chevrolet 81 DVP
30 1 19 Christian Eckes McAnally-Hilgemann Racing Chevrolet 78 Accident
31 20 42 Carson Hocevar Niece Motorsports Chevrolet 78 Accident
32 22 5 Dean Thompson TRICON Garage Toyota 78 Accident
33 3 4 Chase Purdy Kyle Busch Motorsports Chevrolet 78 Accident
34 13 24 Rajah Caruth # GMS Racing Chevrolet 72 Accident
35 15 9 Colby Howard CR7 Motorsports Chevrolet 55 Accident
36 35 47 Tim Viens G2G Racing Toyota 2 Transmission
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year
* – Ineligible for points