Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Corey Heim outlasts madness in Mid-Ohio Trucks

Will Rodgers, a road course ace in NASCAR‘s regional series, was not a happy man following Saturday’s Craftsman Truck Series race at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, taking to Twitter to write, “When you race around idiots, you get raced like an idiot… this series and 2/3 of the drivers in it are a joke. I made plenty of mistakes myself, but I never took anyone out, intentionally or unintentionally. Just ridiculous.”

Rodgers’ grievances stemmed from a late wreck with Austin Wayne Self, one of ten cautions that flew during the day. Much of the field, on the younger and inexperienced side as the Truck Series is the entry into NASCAR’s national divisions, struggled in rainy conditions as early as the pace laps as various trucks spun. This lasted into simply taking the green flag as evidenced by Jake Garcia going off course as he tried to catch up with the grid taking off, and a yellow flag was quickly flown to re-organise as Garcia and Jack Wood went around.

The chaos in the weather prompted NASCAR to switch to single-file restarts, a strategy also employed at the Chicago Street Race by the Cup Series a week prior.

As those around him went off course or were facing the wrong way, Corey Heim remained calm as he led 30 of 67 laps to win from the pole. The victory is his second of 2023 after Martinsville in April.

“If I ride around when it was wet and not overstep and lose the track position we had from the start, I knew we would be in a good position when we ended the race in the dry. That was the case,” said Heim. “Thankfully, I made minimal mistakes; I made a couple that cost me a few spots but nothing that was chastrophic for our finish. We were able to keep that top-five track position and sure enough, when it dried out, we were the fastest track and we were able to drive to the front.”

A pair of IndyCar veterans finished next to each other as Conor Daly placed eighteenth ahead of Marco Andretti‘s nineteenth. Andretti was making his Truck début.

The race had been delayed due to lightning.

Race results

Finish Start Number Driver Team Manufacturer Laps Status
1 1 11 Corey Heim TRICON Garage Toyota 67 Running
2 10 38 Zane Smith Front Row Motorsports Ford 67 Running
3 4 19 Christian Eckes McAnally-Hilgemann Racing Chevrolet 67 Running
4 35 52 Stewart Friesen Halmar Friesen Racing Toyota 67 Running
5 12 99 Ben Rhodes ThorSport Racing Ford 67 Running
6 25 88 Matt Crafton ThorSport Racing Ford 67 Running
7 2 98 Ty Majeski ThorSport Racing Ford 67 Running
8 14 25 Matt DiBenedetto Rackley WAR Chevrolet 67 Running
9 3 2 Nick Sanchez Rev Racing Chevrolet 67 Running
10 13 16 Tyler Ankrum Hattori Racing Enterprises Toyota 67 Running
11 5 23 Grant Enfinger GMS Racing Chevrolet 67 Running
12 11 42 Carson Hocevar Niece Motorsports Chevrolet 67 Running
13 24 4 Chase Purdy Kyle Busch Motorsports Chevrolet 67 Running
14 17 43 Daniel Dye GMS Racing Chevrolet 67 Running
15 15 17 Taylor Gray TRICON Garage Toyota 67 Running
16 23 35 Jake Garcia McAnally-Hilgemann Racing Chevrolet 67 Running
17 21 45 Lawless Alan Niece Motorsports Chevrolet 67 Running
18 18 41 Conor Daly Niece Motorsports Chevrolet 67 Running
19 7 7 Marco Andretti Spire Motorsports Chevrolet 67 Running
20 6 15 Tanner Gray TRICON Garage Chevrolet 67 Running
21 33 56 Timmy Hill Hill Motorsports Toyota 67 Running
22 30 20 Matt Mills Young’s Motorsports Chevrolet 67 Running
23 29 30 Ryan Vargas On Point Motorsports Toyota 67 Running
24 22 04 Landen Lewis Roper Racing Chevrolet 67 Running
25 34 12 Spencer Boyd Young’s Motorsports Chevrolet 67 Running
26 26 13 Hailie Deegan ThorSport Racing Ford 67 Running
27 8 1 William Sawalich TRICON Garage Toyota 67 Running
28 31 66 Conner Jones ThorSport Racing Ford 66 Brakes
29 19 24 Rajah Caruth GMS Racing Chevrolet 66 Running
30 27 22 Austin Wayne Self AM Racing Ford 66 Running
31 9 51 Jack Wood Kyle Busch Motorsports Chevrolet 65 Running
32 32 32 Bret Holmes Bret Holmes Racing Chevrolet 65 Running
33 20 5 Dean Thompson Niece Motorsports Chevrolet 59 Accident
34 16 02 Will Rodgers Young’s Motorsports Chevrolet 54 Accident
35 28 46 Dale Quarterley G2G Racing Toyota 35 Overheating
36 36 9 Colby Howard CR7 Motorsports Chevrolet 21 Transmission
DNQ 33 Josh Reaume Reaume Brothers Racing Ford
DNQ 34 Caleb Costner Reaume Brothers Racing Ford
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year