Sunday, July 21, 2024

Carson Hocevar dominates final stage for Rackley Roofing 200 win

Reading the box score, it might seem like Carson Hocevar took the lead with forty laps remaining and cruised to his second win of the 2023 NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series season, but his night in Nashville Superspeedway was a bit more stressful than that.

While he indeed took the lead from Corey Heim, it came on the heels of a restart following Dean Thompson‘s crash after spinning into the wall. After fending off pole-sitter Nick Sanchez and Zane Smith for the next thirty laps, their challenges became more of a concern after Stewart Friesen tapped Grant Enfinger and they spun through the grass with eight laps remaining.

Although too far out to force overtime, Hocevar still had to hang on for three more laps and ultimately pulled it off. The victory is his second of 2023 after claiming Texas in April, that also coming with a frantic final restart.

Smith settled for second, but it still provided him his first top ten since Kansas in early May.

“We just simply just struggled from first to second, but we were really good from third to fourth. That’s all there was to it,” said Smith. “I was honestly kind of bummed out when the caution came out there, because I knew we struggled all day on restarts. We had a really fast Speedco Ford. Just wish we had the clean air there. It’s been a rough four to five weeks. So to leave here with a stage win and being able to contend all night long, we should all be pretty proud.”

Reigning ARCA Menards Series West champion Jake Drew finished twelfth in his Truck début, while defending NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series national champ Layne Riggs was twenty-seventh in his first Truck race in a Chevrolet.

Thompson and Lawless Alan had difficult days, the former later being summoned to the NASCAR hauler for not reporting to the infield care centre after his wreck. Alan was collected in a lap five crash with Hailie Deegan, prompting him to call her “talentless” and added it was “not the first time she wrecked me. She does it to fucking everybody,” before hitting the wall five laps later.

Race results

Finish Start Number Driver Team Manufacturer Laps Status
1 7 42 Carson Hocevar Niece Motorsports Chevrolet 150 Running
2 8 38 Zane Smith Front Row Motorsports Ford 150 Running
3 1 2 Nick Sanchez Rev Racing Chevrolet 150 Running
4 4 11 Corey Heim TRICON Garage Toyota 150 Running
5 2 41 Bayley Currey Niece Motorsports Chevrolet 150 Running
6 12 4 Chase Purdy Kyle Busch Motorsports Chevrolet 150 Running
7 15 25 Matt DiBenedetto Rackley WAR Chevrolet 150 Running
8 17 16 Tyler Ankrum Hattori Racing Enterprises Toyota 150 Running
9 16 99 Ben Rhodes ThorSport Racing Ford 150 Running
10 21 35 Jake Garcia McAnally-Hilgemann Racing Chevrolet 150 Running
11 5 15 Tanner Gray TRICON Garage Toyota 150 Running
12 24 66 Jake Drew ThorSport Racing Ford 150 Running
13 6 23 Grant Enfinger GMS Racing Chevrolet 150 Running
14 10 17 Taylor Gray TRICON Garage Toyota 150 Running
15 23 88 Matt Crafton ThorSport Racing Ford 150 Running
16 22 56 Timmy Hill Hill Motorsports Toyota 150 Running
17 28 1 Toni Breidinger TRICON Garage Toyota 150 Running
18 18 52 Stewart Friesen Halmar Friesen Racing Toyota 150 Running
19 29 20 Nick Leitz Young’s Motorsports Chevrolet 149 Running
20 32 34 Mason Maggio Reaume Brothers Racing Ford 149 Running
21 34 04 Cory Roper Roper Racing Ford 148 Running
22 9 43 Daniel Dye GMS Racing Chevrolet 148 Running
23 14 19 Christian Eckes McAnally-Hilgemann Racing Chevrolet 148 Running
24 27 30 Jonathan Shafer On Point Motorsports Toyota 147 Running
25 33 12 Spencer Boyd Young’s Motorsports Chevrolet 147 Running
26 35 33 Chase Janes Reaume Brothers Racing Ford 147 Running
27 31 02 Layne Riggs Young’s Motorsports Chevrolet 147 Running
28 20 13 Hailie Deegan ThorSport Racing Ford 146 Running
29 25 9 Colby Howard CR7 Motorsports Chevrolet 144 Running
30 13 51 Jack Wood Kyle Busch Motorsports Chevrolet 144 Running
31 11 98 Ty Majeski ThorSport Racing Toyota 133 Running
32 3 24 Rajah Caruth GMS Racing Chevrolet 119 Running
33 36 5 Dean Thompson TRICON Garage Toyota 104 DVP
34 26 32 Bret Holmes Bret Holmes Racing Chevrolet 92 Accident
35 30 46 Memphis Villarreal G2G Racing Toyota 26 Electrical
36 19 45 Lawless Alan Niece Motorsports Chevrolet 7 Accident
DNQ 14 Trey Hutchens Trey Hutchens Racing Chevrolet
Italics – Competing for Rookie of the Year