Monday, March 4, 2024

2023 Sonora Rally: From The Checkered Flag’s Newsroom

The 2023 Sonora Rally marked the first time that the World Rally-Raid Championship visited the Americas. The Checkered Flag provided in-depth, live coverage of all five stages (six including the Prologue) and other related stories on social media and in article form here.

Missed any reports? Take a look below!

Pre-race stories

  • 24 November 2022: 2023 Road to Dakar races include W2RC legs, South Africa
  • 20 January: TCF‘s Dakar Rally newsroom
  • 7 March: TCF‘s Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge newsroom
  • 18 March: Eduard Pons contesting rest of W2RC ahead of Dakar début in 2024
  • 18 March: Kove Moto entering Sonora Rally
  • 18 March: 2023 Sonora Rally route revealed
  • 29 March: Neels Theric becomes Kove factory rider
  • 31 March: Jean-Loup Lepan skipping Sonora Rally
  • 31 March: 2023 Sonora Rally route tweaked
  • 5 April: X Rally Team to début Prodrive Hunter at Sonora Rally
  • 6 April: 2023 Sonora Rally competitors face over 1,200 km of racing
  • 6 April: Ultimate Ironman Challenge to reward Sonora Rally/Mexican 1000 double
  • 8 April: Rebecca Busi joins FN Speed Team for American W2RC rounds
  • 9 April: AVID Racing Yamaha bringing “Burrito” to Sonora Rally
  • 11 April: Francisco López Contardo resumes W2RC pursuit after paternal leave
  • 13 April: Sunier returns to Kove for Sonora, joined by Neels Theric and Mike Johnson
  • 13 April: Jatin Jain, Sebastián Olarte pursuing Dakar 2024 ticket at Sonora
  • 15 April: Red Bull GasGas duo returns for Sonora
  • 15 April: Étienne Gélinas’ Dakar 2024 quest runs through Sonora
  • 17 April: Cameron Thixton drops Dakar 2024 plans due to funding, still supporting brother Ashley
  • 17 April: Off Piste Adventure bringing Dukes, Ransom, Stalker to Sonora Rally
  • 17 April: Dwain Barnard and Ronald Venter gear up for Sonora in Dakar 2024 pursuits
  • 19 April: 116 on provisional entry list
  • 23 April: Competitors shake down Mexico desert

Overall winners

Class Number Competitor Team Time Recap
T1 201 Nasser Al-Attiyah Toyota Gazoo Racing 10:29:55 Recap
T3 302 Mitch Guthrie Red Bull Off-Road Junior Team 11:17:24 Recap
T4 400 Rokas Baciuška Red Bull Can-Am Factory Racing 11:51:05 Recap
RallyGP 18 Daniel Sanders Red Bull GasGas Factory Racing 11:01:09 Recap
Rally2 17 Romain Dumontier HT Rally Raid Husqvarna Racing 11:48:21 Recap
Rally3 57 Massimo Camurri Freedom Rally Racing 15:59:16 Recap
Quad 162 Laisvydas Kancius AG Dakar School 15:33:14 Recap
National Car/UTV 605 Sara Price* SP Motorsports 17:14:04 Recap
National Enduro 513 Brendan Crow* Brendan Crow 16:37:36 Recap
National Malle Moto 501 Matt Sutherland* Matt Sutherland 18:24:08 Recap
Road to Dakar 526 Francisco Alvarez* Freedom Rally Racing 17:56:38 Recap
* – Not competing in World Rally-Raid Championship

Stage recaps

Stage Date Overall Cars winner Overall Bikes winner Recap
Prologue 23 April Yazeed Al-Rajhi Bradley Cox Recap
Stage #1 24 April Nasser Al-Attiyah Tosha Schareina* Recap
Stage #2 25 April Sébastien Loeb Daniel Sanders Recap
Stage #3 26 April Yazeed Al-Rajhi Daniel Sanders Recap
Stage #4 27 April Nasser Al-Attiyah Toby Price Recap
Stage #5 28 April Yazeed Al-Rajhi Daniel Sanders Recap
Follow @TCFoffroad: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram